Start The Day With YOU!!!!

Find time for me! HA HA WHAT DOES THAT LOOK LIKE?  In the past few months I find myself talking to my friends more often about what we (as Moms) are doing to take care ourselves. The consensus is that we do not do enough for ourselves, but we are amazing at creating schedules and prioritizing what we need to do for others.

Of course we all feel like there are not enough hours in the day, and if you could simply clone yourself all of your problems would be solved.  The constant struggle to find balance is a very delicate balancing act but if YOU aren’t even on your own list then…:-( Often times we work tirelessly to make sure that the house, husband, child, family budget, bills, work are handled, but oftentimes we neglect to do some of the basic things we need to, to take care of ourselves.

Some of things we neglect to do for yourselves are serious; like our annual GYN visit, physical exam, mammogram, eating right, sleep, exercise, and spending quality time with your spouse. Other things we neglect to do for ourselves can seem not so important but can have a huge impact on how we feel about yourself and can affect your emotional and physical health; this includes eating right, sleep, exercise, getting your hair done, buying yourself something, shaving your legs, getting your eyebrows done, putting on your makeup etc., To some, this list my seem trivial but if you do not feel good about your physical appearance then an unhealthy state of mind is usually the next feeling.

Personally, I struggled last year to put myself first.  I neglected my physical appearance and gained an unwanted 20 pounds.  I hated the way I looked and hated myself even more for not doing anything about it.  Instead of getting my butt to the gym I just sat in my dissatisfaction and allowed it to consume me.  This past October I decided that I needed to put “ME” back on my list.  I gave myself a pat on the back for the things I do for my family, and then I asked myself why I was not going to the gym? The answer was simple, I was too busy taking care of everything else but me.  Going to the gym for an hour or two in the morning before I became a Mom was how I enjoy starting my day. It took away my stress and made be feel good both physically and mentally.

Today, I am happy to report that I have lost 10 pounds and I feel amazing.  Like other situations in life I just needed to put the right pieces in place to make things happen.  I joined a gym where childcare was available and started going!!  Guess what I discovered???  The world didn’t stop on its axis just because I took two hours out of the day to do something for me!!!  My daughter loves going to the childcare center at the gym so much she is now asking me to go to the gym just so she can have time to play with her friends.  A few times she even told me to go away, because she was having so much fun.

So what parts of you have you neglected, pushed aside, or tucked under a table since becoming a Mom?  How do you struggle to find balance?  What would you like to put back on your “ME” list?

Leave a Reply

